Skip to content

Pregnancy, Breast-feeding, Sex & LASIK

November 13, 2012

Here are 3 commonly asked questions I get regarding pregnancy and LASIK.

(1) I am currently pregnant, can I have LASIK done?

Pregnancy causes fluid changes in the body. In the later stages of pregnancy, the feet gets swollen and for some women, their cornea of the eyes also gets swollen. It is less accurate to laser a swollen cornea. Threfore, I would advise ladies to wait till 3 months after their pregnancy before having LASIK.

(2) I am still breast-feeding, can I have LASIK done?

There are still fluid changes in the body during breast-feeding. So for the same reason above, I would suggest to wait till 3 months after you have stopped breast-feeding before having LASIK. However, I have gone ahead to perform LASIK for ladies who have breast-fed for many many months and their swelling of their feet and fingers have all subsided.

 

(3) When can I plan to get pregnant after my LASIK surgery? or When can I make love after my LASIK surgery?

You can immediately plan to get pregnant after LASIK. Fluid changes in the body do not occur until the later stages of pregnancy. This also means you can make love anytime you like after LASIK, just be sure you do not injure your eyes, especially in the first 24 to 48 hours when the cornea flap is still fragile. :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

